Heat Retention Records

Retain your heat!

The Gate is Dan Peck (tuba, composition), Tom Blancarte (upright bass), and Brian Osborne (percussion). Formed in 2008, and originally named Dan Peck Trio, the band has developed an aesthetic that is unique and uncompromising. Dividing time between improvisation and Dan’s compositions, the music ranges from bleak landscapes of near-­silence to massive, horrifying sound sculptures. The Gate seeks to break down and confuse the conventional roles of a horn-­bass-­drums ensemble, revealing the most raw and elemental aspects of organized sound.

"...hypnotically suspended session at the exact mid-­point between jazz and doom" -­ The Wire, review of debut LP Acid Soil

"Island Virus" CD Tubapede Records
"Live" Cassette on Tubapede Records (Culled from live concerts in Hannover & Brussels November 2015)
"Chuck" Cassette on Astral Spirits
"Stench" LP featuring Tim Dahl (bass) & Nate Wooley (trumpet, amplifier) Heat Retention & Smeraldina-Rima
"Vomit Dreams" CD Heat Retention
"Destruction of Darkness" CD Carrier Records
"Acid Soil" LP Heat Retention (as Dan Peck Trio)